Dancing Mind Yoga

Kristen HendricksKristen Hendricks
Baptiste Power Vinyasa Yoga Teacher

www.dancingmindyoga.com

Dancing Mind Yoga is an affiliate Baptiste studio located in Falls Church, VA

Kristen’s schedule
Sundays, 9:30-11am
Mondays & Wednesdays, 4:30-5:45pm
Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6pm-7:30pm + Basics, 7:45pm-9:15pm

What motivates you to practice today? 
I am motivated to practice because of the tremendous growth I have received- physically, mentally and emotionally- throughout my consistent yoga practice during the last two years.  I used to walk with my head hung low, eyes down to the ground, afraid to make eye contact with the world around me.  Every time I practice I feel like my eyes are opened and I see the world differently than I did before.

What effect has yoga had on your students? 
One of my students in particular, a man in his fifties, has lost 40 pounds.  Another student has decided to stop using prescription pills.  Yoga has inspired my students to see the world differently and be the change that they want to see in the world.

What do you enjoy most about the yoga community in Virginia? 
My Virginia yoga community is like a second family.  I have hundreds of brothers and sisters willing to support me and cheer me on in life.

If you are offering karma classes, how/why did you choose the charity? 
People for Haiti is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to providing long-term support for the people devastated by the Haitian earthquake of 2010. Made up of volunteers, People for Haiti is a group of concerned citizens who donate their time, expertise, and money to getting aid on the ground, to directly impact the people of Haiti. Dancing Mind Yoga established a weekly Community Class as a way to directly support the efforts of People for Haiti and make yoga available to students of all economic levels. Price for the class, on 6/17 at 6pm, is $10.00, and all proceeds are donated to the People for Haiti Foundation.

The DMY community is a “BADASS”, rocking, loving, nurturing community.  We offer classes, workshops, private sessions, massage and acupuncture.  There is something for everyone!

Check out the class offerings from Dancing Mind Yoga during Virginia Yoga Week!

